A common assumption (and paranoia) for the gluten intolerant is that any food that is made with grains is laced with our enemy gluten. But let’s clarify. Not all grains contain gluten, but these are the culprits: wheat, barley, and rye, also triticale which is a hybrid of wheat and rye.
Another interesting fact is that pure wheatgrass and barley grass are gluten-free. What we’re concerned about is the gluten in the seeds. However, most find it less risky to simply stay away from the byproduct of these grains altogether, as they may be contaminated during harvest and manufacturing.
Corn for example is gluten-free, and it is one that is very readily available here in the Philippines in different forms and varieties: sweet corn, white corn, yellow corn. You can buy them fresh on the cob, frozen or canned in kernels, the white bloated addictive version binatog, served with coconut shavings (also gluten-free–getting the craving, yet?) and of course, popcorn.
Rice and potato that a typical Pinoy consumes in pounds per day thankfully, is also gluten-free (so worry not as your pure potato fries, and unli-rice food tripping is safe. 😉 ) If you’re not on the prowl for extraordinary food adventure, the typical meal of rice plus viand, won’t actually be such a hassle.
Soy is also gluten-free and soy-made product if in pure form (without extenders) are safe such as tofu (you can enjoy your tokwa’t baboy guilt-free) and warm and sweet dessert-breakfast taho. Though, since gluten might be a cross-contaminant in the harvest, transport, and storage of soy as most is grown in wheat farms, it is best to still be cautious with this item.
Here are some more samples of gluten-free grains to help when faced with such a dilemma.
– nut flours
– gluten-free oats
– buckwheat groats (aka kasha)
You may also visit the complete list from Celiac.org here.
Have some of your own tips you would like to share to help with the gluten-free diet?
Leave some in the comments! 🙂