Many of you know us at GERALD.ph for our freshly baked breads and pastries. But I have also heard from some customers to make some gluten-free options options for them. That’s why we also started introducing gluten-free food items so that these customers can also enjoy bread, cookies, muffins, pizza, and more.
In simple terms, gluten constitutes about 80% of the protein in common grains such as wheat, rye, barley and oats. Some people can have an allergy or intolerance towards gluten, so they must follow a gluten-free diet for medical reasons.
Our gluten-free items are prepared in a separate facility from our regular breads and pastries, so there is no fear of cross contamination. Most of our gluten-free items are also vegan (except the gluten-free salami pizza) and dairy-free!
To give you an idea of the substitutes for flour in our gluten-free products, here’s the list for our top 5 best-selling gluten-free items:
With wheat, barley and rye out of the picture, what do you eat? (Buh-bye, pizza, pasta, bread… and so much more.) We’ve scoured the internet for gluten-free food, and surprisingly found these products that we never thought could be gluten-free. Not all these are available yet in the Philippines. But it’s nice to know there are creative ways out there by which the gluten-free community can still enjoy their favorite meals.
1. Gluten-Free Corn Dogs
Corn dogs, who doesn’t want a delicious soft breaded meat on a stick? But these treats are typically made with flour made of wheat. And so we thought we’d never see the day corn dogs off a shelf can be gluten-free. Foster Farms Gluten-Free Corn Dogs, Chicken Franks Dipped in Honey-Cruchy batter: doesn’t that just sound delicious? And gluten-free, thank you very much.
2. Gluten-Free Gravy
Feels a bit unfair that just because you cannot have gluten, delicious things such as gravy become forbidden. What with its usual wheat containing thickeners and flavorings. But McCormick created a solution so your sauces and meats do not have to go gravy-free. (Seriously, McCormick, you’re golden.).
3. Gluten-Free Couscous
Aside from pasta, which we already know have gluten-free versions, Couscous also has a big red flag for the gluten-intolerant. A pasta like product which is a staple in the North African cuisine, it is traditionally made from crushed durum wheat. Woolworths the popular grocery store in Australia carry San Remo Gluten-Free Couscous. It’s made instead of corn flour and water. Add it to your vegetables meals, meats and fish. Cooks in only 9 minutes.
Gluten-Free Whole Grain Bread
You don’t need wheat to get nutrition and tummy pleasant fiber from whole grain bread. Whole wheat breads are usual things we see in stores, but more types are actually out there. Genuine Bavarian Breads brand makes gluten-free whole grain breads: organic whole flaxseed bread, whole grain bread made mostly of whole cereals and whole rice. These can be ordered from iHerb to ship to the Philippines via UPS, DHL or via local post. If you want other breads like whole loaf, baguette and sliced breads, we also know where you can get some.
Gluten-Free Soy Sauce
You would think that soy sauce, soy being the operative word, should naturally be gluten-free. But lo and behold, the ingredients list of most soy sauce out there contain wheat in its primary ingredients. Even Kikkoman, the naturally brewed soysauce, still contains gluten in undetectable amount below 10 parts per million. For Gluten-Free soy sauce then, try the Tamari style soy sauce that don’t use wheat. Kikkoman also has it. FilStop may ship internationally to you. You can also shop online locally for Skinny Protein Aminos from 7grains, for your marinades, and dish seasonings, and have it delivered to your home.
We used to believe the only way you can have gluten-free pizza is to make it from scratch. But our good friends from Amy’s made these pizzas with rice crust for our enjoyment.
Kroger also has these pizzas with fantastically extra thin crust made from tapioca starch, brown rice flour among other gluten-free ingredients.
For alcoholic beverages, we can have the gluten-free alternative, all the time. Wine, it’s called. But sometimes we really just want beer. Bad news for us since barley equals beer, right? Well, not all the time. Check Shape’s list of 12 Gluten Free Beers made from alternative ingredients like sorghum , gluten-less barley malt, hops, fruits, chestnuts. I’ll drink to that.
It’s fun finding out about these, isn’t it? Suddenly the gluten-free diet doesn’t seem at all that limited. Do you have your own Gluten-Free food discovery? Feel free to share with us in the comments!
You must be logged in to post a comment.